skip navigation

Preview: Storm host Force for final game of Conference Semifinals

By Kendall Grayson, 05/02/21, 10:00AM PDT


Call 308-338-8144 for tickets!

Kearney, NE. – The Tri-City Storm host the Fargo Force today at the Viaero Center for the third and final game of the Western Conference Semifinal round of the 2021 Clark Cup Playoffs. Tickets to today’s series-deciding Game #3 are only $5 and are available at or by calling the Viaero Center Box Office at 308-338-8144. The winner of today’s game will advance to the 2021 Western Conference Final. Puck drop is scheduled for 4:05pm.


Tri-City (#1 Seed Western Conference, 1-1) won the opening game of the best of three series on Friday by a final score of 3-2 before dropping an overtime decision to Fargo last night 5-4. Last night’s game was the first postseason game to be decided in overtime for the Storm in over a decade. The Storm’s most recent overtime game in the playoffs entering last night’s game was a 5-4 overtime loss to the Omaha Lancers on April 9th, 2010. Tri-City’s offense has produced seven goals by seven different goal scorers through the opening two games of the postseason. Cole McWard, Hunter Strand, Mark Estapa, Matthew Knies, Gavin Brindley, Conner Hutchison, and Drew Montgomery have all netted goals for the Storm to this point in the postseason. Todd Scott has started both games in net for Tri-City and has made 43 saves on 50 shots. The Storm’s power-play has recorded goals on four of five opportunities to this point in the series. After leading the USHL in average attendance during the regular season, Game #1 and Game #2 of the Western Conference Semifinals at the Viaero Center were the two most-attended postseason games to this point in the 2021 Clark Cup Playoffs.


Fargo (#4 Seed Western Conference, 1-1) faced elimination for the first time in the postseason last night and will again face elimination today at the Viaero Center following a 5-4 overtime victory over the Storm last night in Game #2 of the series. The Force trailed four separate times in last night’s game and did not hold a lead until Cody Monds buried an overtime game-winning goal to push the series to a decisive Game #3. After dropping both games of the opening round of the 2019 Clark Cup Playoffs, last night’s overtime win over the Storm was the first postseason victory for the Force since the team captured the 2018 Clark Cup Championship on May 19th, 2018 in a 4-2 road win over the Youngstown Phantoms. Cody Monds is the only player to this point in the series to score multiple goals. Austin Wong, Tristan Broz, Aaron Huglen, Jack Peart, and Bear Hughes have also netted goals for the Force to this point in the postseason. Brennan Boynton has appeared in goal during both games in the series for Fargo and has made 49 saves on 56 shots. The winner of today’s game will face either Sioux City or Omaha in the Conference Final.