Storm News

NHL and minor pro alumni begin postseasons

Posted 2 years 133 days ago ago by David Fine

Kearney, Neb. – The ECHL’s and NHL’s playoffs start Wednesday and 11 former Storm players (plus one former Tri-City broadcaster) have punched their tickets.

St. Louis Blues forward Jaden Schwartz opposes the Minnesota Wild in the opening round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Schwartz, 24, has played 38 career playoff games, scoring six goals and 21 points. The Blues made the Western Conference Finals last season.

In the ECHL, the Storm has alumni on 11 different teams. Rookie Simon Denis finished fourth among league blueliners with 55 points (15g, 40a) and second in the circuit with a plus-40 rating. The Walleye are the top seed in the Western Conference (106 points) and seek their first Kelly Cup.

Jason Binkley (Fort Wayne) isn’t too far behind Denis, finishing in a tie for ninth among ECHL defensemen with 44 points. The Komets oppose Andrew Panzarella (TC: 2009-10) and the Quad Cities Mallards in the first round.

Brian Ward represents the Adirondack Thunder, ECHL North Division Champions. Ward led the Thunder with 49 points and finished in a 5th-place tie among rookies with 27 goals. Ward faces Manchester’s Daniel Doremus, who played with the Storm in 2009-10.  

Broadcaster Jared Shafran (South Carolina Stingrays) is at Greenville on Thursday and sees former Storm defenseman Desmond Bergin and the Swamp Rabbits.

Check out a list below for the full ECHL rundown.

This weekend concludes the AHL’s regular season. The Toronto Marlies and Trevor Moore boss the North Division and have already wrapped up a playoff spot. Moore has 12 goals and 32 points in his first AHL campaign.

The Milwaukee Admirals (AHL) have former Storm defenseman Rick Pinkston and possess the third seed in the Central Division. The top four teams from each division qualify for the postseason.

Call 308-338-8144 to register for 2017-18 Storm season tickets. The Viaero Center Box Office is open Monday-Friday from 11-5.

ECHL Bracket
Adirondack (Brian Ward) – Manchester (Daniel Doremus)
Orlando (Darik Angeli) – Florida

Toledo (Simon Denis) – Kalamazoo
Allen – Utah (Kevin Boyle)
Brampton – Reading
South Carolina (Jared Shafran) – Greenville (Desmond Bergin)
Quad City (Andrew Panzarella) – Fort Wayne (Jason Binkley)
Idaho (Charlie Dodero) – Colorado (Kenny Brooks)

2017_04_12 Alumni IN.jpg 

Groups Promotions Suites




    Follow Us  
    Stay connected with the latest updates