Storm News

18 Storm alumni make NCAA Tournament

Posted 2 years 119 days ago ago by David Fine

Eleven of 16 schools represented

Kearney, Neb. – Eighteen former Tri-City Storm players have qualified for the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament that begins Friday, March 24.

Storm alumni represent 11 of the 16 schools. Tri-City has multiple players on five rosters – Penn State (3), North Dakota (3), Notre Dame (2), Providence (2) and UMass-Lowell (2). Seven of the eight first-round matchups feature former Storm players.

Six 2016 Clark Cup Champions are in the tournament – Wade Allison (Western Michigan), Tory Dello (Notre Dame), Brandon Duhaime (Providence), Mattias Goransson (UMass-Lowell), John Marino (Harvard) and Andrew Peski (North Dakota). Fourteen Storm alumni from the past two seasons are in the tournament. Tri-City made the 2015 Western Conference Final.

Full Bracket 

North Dakota senior Austin Poganski and sophomore Chris Wilkie won the 2016 NCAA Championship. The freshman Peski joins the group.

Penn State sophomores Chase Berger, Kevin Kerr and Vince Pedrie helped the Nittany Lions clinch their first trip to the NCAA Tournament by winning the 2017 Big Ten Championship game.

The Nittany Lions face Hobey Baker Award finalist and Union Captain Mike Vecchione (TC: 2011-13) in the opening round. Vecchione won the 2014 NCAA Championship.

John Marino is a freshman defenseman on Harvard, the East’s region’s top-seed.

Five former Tri-City skaters are NHL Draft picks – Marino, Allison, Duhaime, Poganski and Wilkie.

Last season, 14 former Storm players made the NCAA Tournament.

Here is a full list of Storm alumni in the tournament:
North Dakota (3): Andrew Peski, Austin Poganski, Chris Wilkie
Penn State (3): Chase Berger, Kevin Kerr, Vince Pedrie
Notre Dame (2): Tory Dello, Bobby Nardella
Providence (2): Brandon Duhaime, Garrett Gamez
UMass-Lowell (2): Mattias Goransson, Nick Master
Air Force (1): John Hrabovsky
Boston University (1): John McDermott
Harvard (1): John Marino
Michigan Tech (1): Joel L’Esperance
Union (1): Mike Vecchione
Western Michigan (1): Wade Allison

Get Storm Tickets

The Storm is at Lincoln for the final time this season Friday, March 24 at 7:35 p.m. Saturday, the Storm hosts Sioux Falls at 7:05 p.m. on Casino Night, featuring 25 concourse games and prizes from local sponsors.

Listen to all Storm games on The Breeze 94.5 FM with the Viaero Wireless Pregame Show starting 15 minutes before puck drop.



2017_03_20 Ncaa IN.jpg 

Groups Promotions Suites




    Follow Us  
    Stay connected with the latest updates